What is Director Approval for Moments?
Director Approval for Moments is a setting available in Kaymbu. With this setting enabled, directors can review and approve Moments for each classroom within their center. This setting is a useful option for programs looking to monitor the content of photo and video observations before they are shared with families. As teachers observe and document learning and development in their classrooms, directors can also view the captured Moments that are published directly to the Moments Page. To learn more about Moments, visit our Help Page article here.
Table of Contents
- Setting Up Director Approval for Moments
- Using Director Approval for Moments
Setting Up Director Approval for Moments
To enable Director Approval for Moments, Directors would navigate to Menu > Settings > Family Communication Settings > Director Approval for Moments.
Slide the toggle ON to require director approval before Moments are published.
Please note: When the “Director Approval for Moments” toggle is ON, a Moment will not be shared with families even when a teacher selects the “Send Now” option. Instead, it will be published to the Moments Page. Sharing Moments with families will not occur until a director first approves it. Moments, such as photos and videos, will require director approval, while text-based anecdotes do not.
Automatically Approve Moments
Once the Director Approval setting is turned on, the option to set up automatic approval will be made available. When automatic approval is enabled, Moments that are pending review will be automatically approved after a selected amount of time has passed. To allow automatic approval, switch the toggle ON, then select the desired length of time.
Using Director Approval for Moments
When a director has Moments pending review, it will be indicated with a badge to the right of the Moments section in the Menu, along with the number of Moments requiring review.
Additionally, the option to filter all pending Moments can be accessed from the Moments page. To do so, navigate to Menu > Moments. From there, click the “More” tab on the top-right of the Moments page, then select “Pending Review”. There will be a notification badge located on the “More” tab, as well as the “Pending Review” label at the bottom of the recorded Moment, indicating the need for approval.
Please note: The “Pending Review” filter and notification badges on the Moments Page is only available at the director, administrator, or account manager level. For teachers, all pending Moments will be indicated with a “Pending Review” label at the bottom of each photo or video on the Moments Page.
Directors also have the ability to edit any of the text included in a Moment. To do so, select a Moment, click on the pencil icon located in the top-right corner, edit the caption, then click Save.
Once a Moment has been reviewed, click on the three dots located next to the “Pending Review” label at the bottom of the Moment. From there, three options are presented: to Approve the Moment, to mark it as Private, or to Delete it.
If approved, the Moment will be published with the original save option selected by the teacher to be shared with families. Teachers have three options to Share Moments:
- Send Now: Moments will be sent to families immediately after a director approves it.
- Send in Digest: This feature allows teachers to communicate with families consistently. Teachers can customize the publishing date and time through the Family Communication Settings for Daily Sheets and Family Digests. The Family Digest contains a collection of observations that are published to a student’s profile.
- Send Manually: Moments can be sent directly from the Moments page. To do so, go to Menu > Moments, select the Moment(s) you wish to send/re-send, click on the three dots in the top right corner, then select the paper airplane to share.
When a Moment is marked as private, it will not be shared with families. However, it will remain in the platform. If a Moment is deleted, that observation will be permanently removed from the platform.
Reviewing Multiple Moments
Additionally, multiple moments can be selected for approval. By clicking the circle on the top-left corner of those Moments, directors can Approve, mark Private, or Delete multiple Moments at a time.
Once all pending Moments have been reviewed, all notification badges will be cleared, indicating that there are no more remaining Moments requiring approval.